top of page
Search

Postpartum Health/ Healing: Postnatal Supplements

Every mom I have spoken to has agreed that so much emphasis is put on female health while pregnant but then you deliver, and mom's health is waved aside like, not now mom, How is baby!?


And yes of course, a baby needs all the care and love but mom needs the care first so she can tend to baby. Hormonally. I was off balance, I could feel it without any tests. I felt off. Baby Blues that were extreme moments of sadness and then utter happiness would fluctuate throughout the day. So grateful for my husband who took care of baby and also cared for me during this time.


Some say this is an unavoidable phase but I found some things out during this time from other moms and through research and advocacy on my own behalf. First, postnatal supplements. As a new mom, our bodies are going through changes, whether you breastfeed or not, the first months or so, your body gets depleted of major nutrients. Which brings me to my second point, nutrients, as in food. Different foods with different nutrients to replenish and rebuild. Finally, physical therapy. Even if you have the genes of an athlete, physical therapy should be a part of postpartum recovery. When athletes are injured, there is always some form of therapy, birthing might not be an injury but it is a trauma to your body. Your pelvic floor and abdominal muscles need rehab. Most women don't even know they have a condition known as diastis recti until is severe. In this post, we will focus on postnatal supplements first.

I had no idea there was such a thing as postnatal vitamins. The only reason I found out was because I was so depressed and at my lowest point that I started googling “how to stop baby blues”. I came across mommy bloggers who shared their experiences and brands they had worked with. Originally, I tried out postnatal multivitamin capsule and felt a bit better. I found I began to have some more energy, yes, the tears were there, yes, I still had very low moments, but I snapped back faster.

At 5 months postpartum, I started researching other brands and came across Mary Ruth organics. I tried other supplements from Mary Ruth’s Organics such as Elder Berry chewables and drops and loved both. So, when I got an opportunity to try the prenatal/ postnatal multivitamin, I couldn’t say no.




If there is another baby in our future, this is going to be my got to prenatal for a couple of different reasons. First, It is easier on my stomach. Sometimes, the prenatal was too much to take especially during those first couple of months when your body is adjusting to a new way of functioning. Second, price wise, you get so much more for your money, for example, this prenatal bottle has lasted me almost 2 months! Third, it tastes good! I like to describe it as a berry, citrusy taste. Finally, there is this instinct I have that supplements in this form are taken in by your body faster and is better absorbed.




If you are interested in giving this a try, start with this link for 15% off: https://shareasale.com/r.cfm?b=1696027&u=2658217&m=105440&urllink=&afftrack=


or use 'marinashaker' at checkout.


As always, we got this mama!

Love, Marina



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fried Burrata Salad

If you already live burrata, you gotta try this fried burrata salad. Ingredients: 2 Burrata balls 1 Egg 1/2 cup Flour 1 cup Breadcrumbs 6...

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page